Lazy Man’s Cabbage Roll Casserole

I’ve never had an actual cabbage roll. I was a fussy child and there was something about Cabbage Rolls that made me uneasy, I think it was the combination of tomato sauce and rice. It seems ridiculous now after I’ve had the essential ingredients of cabbage rolls in a thick stew and in a casserole. My first encounter with Lazy Man’s Cabbage Rolls was in Canada by my roommate’s Mom who came by for a visit and made us a giant stew pot of man-meal goodness. Back when I was in Edmonton I lived with two burly men, my friends Darek and Darren, who also happen to be brothers. They were raised in big family full of great cooks and together we had a household full of glorious dinners and parties. Their love for food, cooking, and restaurant exploration was a big influence on me and the home we shared is where my cooking skills really began to blossom.

My Edmonton Home

Lately, I have introduced more Canadian-influenced dinners to my second home in Belgium. I love hearty Alberta recipes that are not too fancy or fussy. A lot of our dishes have influences from our early settlers; British, French, Ukrainian, Norwegians, Chinese, Greek, Indian… and so on. Of course, different recipes change over time and many have been adapted to save time for the fast-paced lifestyle in the Prairies. Don’t be fooled by the appearance of some meals as these dishes taste damn good and will fill that big hole in your stomach after a hard days work. Best of all, for clean-up there are hardly any dishes; a big plus in my books since we don’t have a dishwasher in our 30 m2 studio apartment.

Lazy Man’s Cabbage Roll Casserole
Recipe adapted from Yummly

2 lbs ground beef
1 onion (chopped)
3 garlic cloves (minced)
700 g tomato sauce
1 tsp dried thyme
2 tsp dill weed
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
1 tsp cayenne pepper
2 cups rice (uncooked)
4 bacon strips (chopped + uncooked)
1 head shredded cabbage
1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese

1. In a large skillet, cook the beef, onion and garlic over medium heat until meat is no longer pink; drain. Stir in one can of tomato sauce and seasonings. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat: cover and simmer for 5 minutes. Stir in rice and bacon; heat through. Remove from the heat

2.Layer a third of the cabbage in a greased 13-in. x 9-in. x 2-in. baking dish. Top with half of the meat mixture. Repeat layers; top with remaining cabbage. Pour remaining tomato sauce over top.

3.Cover and bake at 375 degrees F for 45 minutes. Uncover; sprinkle with cheese. Bake 10 minutes longer or until cheese is melted. Let stand for 5 minutes before serving.

*This recipe is on my old website… please come and visit curiousmeredith.com for new recipes and travel articles in the future! Thanks for stopping by!*

Leave a Reply

